Patch Adams [Full Screen]

Availability: 7 IN STOCK
PRICE: $3.47
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



The fact-based story of an unconventional physician who attempted to heal patients with laughter, based on his own book and mixing equal doses of scatological humor and pathos. Robin Williams stars as Hunter Adams, a troubled young man who commits himself to a mental institution in the late 1960s. His experiences there convince Adams to become a doctor, and he enrolls in medical school, where he is appalled at the cold, clinical professionalism that alienates patients from their caregivers. Determined to provide emotional and spiritual relief as well as medicine, Adams clowns around for his patients, getting to know them personally. Although his efforts seem to work wonders and the hospital nursing staff is grateful for the levity Adams provides, his methods alienate his uptight roommate Mitch (Philip Seymour Hoffman) as well as the staff and faculty of his school. Adams perseveres, however, even starting his own low-cost rural clinic called the Gesundheit Institute, and wooing a pretty fellow student, Carin (Monica Potter). Tragedy strikes, and Adams' career is put in jeopardy, forcing him to defend his style and philosophy before a board of jurists determined to bar him from practicing medicine. Patch Adams (1998) was produced by former MASH (1972-83) star Mike Farrell, who met the real-life Adams when the offbeat doctor served as an advisor to the actor's popular TV series. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

Chapter List

Side #1
0. Chapter List
1. The Troubled Mind [:22]
2. Look Beyond... [9:18]
3. To Be a Doctor [:02]
4. The Experiment [6:53]
5. Doctor Clown [:13]
6. Walcott's Warning [4:32]
7. The Big Welcome [3:44]
8. Carin's Birthday [2:30]
9. Blue Skies [4:24]
10. A Fun Hospital [10:51]
11. Gesundheit [2:06]
12. Then I Met You... [5:49]
13. The Last Sonnet [1:15]
14. You Don't Fit in [6:08]
15. Patch's Appeal [:03]
16. The Board's Decision [3:18]
17. Doctors [2:43]
18. Epilogue/Titles [1:56]