Music of the Heart [Widescreen] [Collector's Edition] [2 Discs]

Add to cart < Last One
Availability: 1 IN STOCK
PRICE: $9.99
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



After devoting his career to such horror films as Scream, A Nightmare on Elm Street, and Last House on the Left, director Wes Craven makes a dramatic change of pace with this inspiring drama about a teacher who helps change the lives of her students. Roberta Guaspari-Tzavaras (Meryl Streep) teaches at an elementary school in Harlem, where discipline is a higher priority than the lively arts. But Roberta believes that studying music will give the children a sense of purpose invaluable in later life. Despite indifference from the school administration and budget cuts that force her to seek outside funding (and even threaten her job), Roberta struggles to teach the violin to her students, instilling a love of classical music in kids who might otherwise never have heard Bach or Mozart, and leading to a student recital at Carnegie Hall. Angela Bassett, Cloris Leachman, and Aidan Quinn highlight the supporting cast, and virtuoso violinists Isaac Stern, Itzhak Perlman, and Mark O'Connor appear as themselves. The Music of the Heart is based on a true story; the real Roberta Guaspari-Tzavaras and her students can be seen in the documentary Small Wonders. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Chapter List

Disc #1- Music of the Heart
0. Chapter Selection
1. Opening Credits/Moving On [4:38]
2. An Old Friend [4:38]
3. Not Just An Interview, A Performance! [:14]
4. Teaching More Than Music [:14]
5. Becoming Closer? [2:34]
6. Lessons In Life [:29]
7. "I Can't Stand Strong" [:30]
8. Roberta Meets Isabel [:30]
9. The Realities Of The Inner City [4:24]
10. The Birthday Story [2:47]
11. New Additions [4:23]
12. A Temporary Change In Attitude [4:35]
13. A Merry Christmas After All [4:23]
14. Agitated With Mom [1:19]
15. "Practice Makes Perfect" [2:32]
16. Construction Woes [3:24]
17. Nick Is Troubled [2:19]
18. Hoping For A Future With Brian [2:42]
19. Nick Breaks Down [1:45]
20. "You're Fired!" [2:37]
21. The Concert [1:25]
22. Ten Years Later [1:20]
23. Teaching A Perfectionist [:57]
24. The Lottery [2:55]
25. Arnold Steinhardt's Wife [3:26]
26. New Classes, New Problems [2:42]
27. Coping With The Loss Of A Classmate [2:14]
28. Getting Mom A Date [:07]
29. The Big Date [:07]
30. "It's True? You're Firing Me?" [:27]
31. The Final Concert? [:27]
32. fiddlefest Is Born [1:30]
33. String Training [2:11]
34. No Concert Hall [1:16]
35. The Violin Is Part Of You [1:13]
36. Not Just Any Concert Hall [2:36]
37. Carnegie Hall [:17]
38. Getting Ready [:17]
39. Fiddlefest [:57]
40. Teaching Again [3:51]
41. Epilogue And End Credits [2:47]
Disc #2- Small Wonders Documentary
0. Chapter Selection
1. Opening Credits [4:29]
2. The Violin Lottery [8:55]
3. The Lucky Winners [3:51]
4. The Beginners [14:18]
5. National Anthem For The Knicks [12:06]
6. Guest Instructor Isaac Stern [2:51]
7. School Performance [8:21]
8. Playing Carnegie Hall [19:24]
9. Closing Credits [3:10]