Scent of Green Papaya

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



The interior life of a Vietnamese household in the 1950s, as seen through the eyes of a young servant girl, is explored in Tran Anh Hung's placid, but visually intoxicating tone poem, L'Odeur de la Papaye Verte. The film begins in 1951, when the beautiful and inquisitive 10-year-old peasant girl Mui (Lu Man San) is hired to work at the home of an affluent Saigon family. When the father absconds with the family's money, the tireless mother (Truong Thi Loc) is forced to support the family through the slim profits of her tiny fabric store. As the family struggles to make ends meet, Mui becomes attracted to a friend of the family, Khuyen (Vuong Hoa Hoi). The film then shifts to 1961, when the family is in desperate straits. The father has died, and Mui (Tran Nu Yen-Khe), now twenty years old, finds herself working in Khuyen's home. Khuyun has grown into an attractive, sophisticated French-speaking pianist, with his own expensive mistress. Mui serves him as she has served the family -- with perfection and silence. She also loves Khuyen is silence, and gradually Khuyen begins to take notice of Mui's love for him. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Chapter List

Side #1 --
0. Scene Selections
1. Start [4:04]
2. Mother & Father [3:44]
3. Mui [1:57]
4. Cooking Lesson [2:10]
5. Morning Meal [4:36]
6. Daily Chores [3:38]
7. Tin the Mischief Maker [5:42]
8. Mr. Thuan [1:29]
9. Family Histories [3:43]
10. Father Takes the Money [5:22]
11. "I Had a Fight." [7:43]
12. Faulting Mother [2:08]
13. Green Papayas [1:27]
14. Missing Father [5:34]
15. Silent Suitor [2:04]
16. Broken Vase [1:30]
17. Father Returns [2:25]
18. The Doctor [3:21]
19. 10 Years Later [2:42]
20. To's Legacy [4:24]
21. New Employer [3:04]
22. Khuyen's Fiancée [4:11]
23. Scent of a Woman [5:36]
24. Mui Makes an Impression [4:23]
25. Trouble in Paradise [6:44]
26. Engagement Broken [2:03]
27. Pygmalion [3:20]
28. The Lady Mui [4:35]