Morvern Callar

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



A woman's life is set onto a new path by tragedy and confusion in this offbeat drama from maverick director Lynne Ramsay. Morvern Callar (Samantha Morton) is a woman in her early twenties who wakes up in her flat in a small Scottish town on Christmas morning to a rather unpleasant surprise -- her live-in boyfriend has committed suicide, and his body lies on the floor in a pool of blood. She discovers that he has left a short message for her on the screen of his personal computer ("I love you. Be brave."), as well as the text of a novel he had recently completed. Changing the name on the title page to her own, Morvern begins sending the manuscript out to publishers without having actually read it. Eventually, Morvern disposes of her boyfriend's body, scrubs away the evidence of his suicide, and attempts to reintegrate herself with the world, though the shocking events seems to have built a wall between her and those around her, and she is unable to explain what has happened to anyone, even her best friend, Lanna (Kathleen McDermott). Eventually, Morvern draws the last of her boyfriend's money from the bank and treats herself and Lanna to a short vacation in Spain, where they become friendly with a group of hedonistic British expatriates and soon find their friendship stretched to the breaking point. Morvern Callar was based on the novel by Alan Warner; it was originally intended to be Lynne Ramsay's first directorial effort, but she was able to complete her film Ratcatcher before securing funding for this project. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Chapter List

Side #1 --
1. The Boyfriend [7:31]
2. Christmas Presents [4:43]
3. Where's Dostoevsky? [2:45]
4. A Wild Party [7:29]
5. A Visiting Gran [8:39]
6. A Novel By... [4:04]
7. Going on Holiday [2:38]
8. Burial [3:05]
9. Pals [6:18]
10. Off to Spain [4:19]
11. The Local Scene [6:43]
12. Consoling the Sad [4:58]
13. We're Leaving [6:53]
14. The Middle of Nowhere [7:03]
15. The Publishers [8:59]
16. Payment [2:50]
17. I'm Happy Here [4:32]
18. End Credits [3:45]