Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items such as 3-D glasses may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



While The Four Marx Brothers (Groucho, Harpo, Chico and Zeppo) were appearing nightly on Broadway in Animal Crackers in the spring of 1929, they spent their days shooting their first film, The Cocoanuts, at @Paramount's Astoria Studios in Long Island. Based on their 1925 stage hit, The Cocoanuts is set in Miami, where hotel manager Mr. Hammer (Groucho Marx) struggles to keep his establishment from going under. Hammer's only paying guest is Mrs. Potter (Margaret Dumont), whose daughter Polly (Mary Eaton) is in love with aspiring architect Bob (Oscar Shaw). Mrs. Potter would prefer that Polly marry the respectable Harvey Yates (Cyril Ring); what she doesn't know is that Yates is a jewel thief, in cahoots with the slinky Penelope (Kay Francis). The script was written by George S. Kaufman, and the music by Irving Berlin. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Chapter List

1. Main Title; Florida by the Sea.
2. The Bellhops.
3. When My Dreams Come True.
4. Groucho's Sales Pitch.
5. Harpo and Chico Arrive.
6. Trapping the Tramps.
7. Groucho Pines Away.
8. Harpo's Interlude.
9. The Door Routine.
10. A Lesson in Real Estate.
11. Monkey Doodle-Doo.
12. The Auction.
13. Jail Break.
14. Ballet.
15. Shirt Song.
16. Gypsy Love Song.

See Also