Shadowlands [Widescreen]

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



This lavishly mounted adaptation of the play by William Nicholson tells the true story of the doomed love affair between novelist and noted Christian scholar C.S. Lewis and a Jewish-American poet. Anthony Hopkins stars as C.S. "Jack" Lewis, an Oxford professor and successful author of the ~Chronicles of Narnia series of children's fantasy novels. A confirmed bachelor, Jack's existence is an inward life of the mind. Somewhat detached from the world, his only social outlet is evenings out at a local pub discussing philosophy and religion with his fellow lecturers. Jack has been corresponding with a bluntly intelligent American woman, Joy Gresham (Debra Winger), who arrives to visit him, with her young son Douglas (Joseph Mazzello) in tow. She tells Jack that she has actually fled from an abusive marriage and plans to divorce, and Jack astonishes friends and family by agreeing to a platonic marriage with Joy so that she can obtain British citizenship. As their friendship deepens and Joy discovers that she has a terminal illness, the relationship between Joy and Jack becomes a genuine romance, and their marriage turns into a real commitment. Shadowlands (1993) had previously been filmed as a well-regarded British television movie in 1985 starring Joss Ackland as Lewis. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

Chapter List

Side #1 --
0. chapters
1. Main Title [5:30]
2. University of Oxford 1952 [8:00]
3. Joy Gresham [7:10]
4. A Second Visit [7:04]
5. "I Have Been Really Hurt" [4:36]
6. Christmas Arrival [6:33]
7. The Attic/Christmas Day [6:52]
8. "Trying Time of Year" [4:59]
9. Joy's Return to London [3:06]
10. The Friendship Takes Root [4:21]
11. A Marriage of Convenience [4:14]
12. The Pageant of Learning [7:07]
13. Joy is Stricken [7:02]
14. Trying to Cope [3:18]
15. A Marriage of Love [:47]
16. Remission/Homecoming [9:01]
17. Precious Time [2:53]
18. Greeting the Morning Sun [4:03]
19. Searching for Herefordshire [3:14]
20. Relapse [8:37]
21. A Final Homecoming [1:25]
22. "A Brutal Teacher" [6:58]
23. Jack and Douglas [4:09]
24. "Part of the Happiness" [3:10]
25. End Credits [3:14]