Hidden Fortress [Criterion Collection] [Widescreen]

Only 4 left in stock - order soon!
PRICE: $9.99
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



Akira Kurosawa's The Hidden Fortress (original Japanese title: Kakushi Toride No San Akunin) stars Minoru Chiaki and Kamatari Fujiwara as a pair of misfit soldiers. Running from the enemy after a disastrous defeat, the two soldiers fall in with general Toshiro Mifune, who is in search of a huge cache of gold. Mifune is also desirous of freeing princess-in-exile Misa Uehara from the clutches of the evil victorious army. Several large and small battles ensue before Mifune can realize his goal. If the plot of Hidden Fortress sounds vaguely familiar to you, try this exercise: substitute two robots for Chiaki and Fujiwara, Mark Hamill for Mifune, and Carrie Fisher for Uehara. George Lucas himself admitted that Hidden Fortress was a principal inspiration for his Star Wars saga; stretching the point farther, both Hidden Fortress and Star Wars had their roots in John Ford's The Searchers. Originally released in a 137-minute form, The Hidden Fortress was sliced to ribbons by its American distributors, and years later received extensive restoration. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Chapter List

Side #1 --
1. Lost [:09]
2. Wanted [4:51]
3. Capture & Escape [4:01]
4. "find The Princess" [5:35]
5. Followed [4:35]
6. The General [1:40]
7. "a Hidden Fortress?" [5:59]
8. Rokurota Makabe [4:15]
9. "it's A Girl" [5:17]
10. Princess Yuki [4:34]
11. Doubting A General [4:01]
12. The Truth [2:27]
13. Trusting Fools [4:29]
14. Leaving The Fortress [5:10]
15. Running Away [3:53]
16. Botched Escape [4:04]
17. Tricking The Guards [5:30]
18. Blending In [4:22]
19. A Woman's Worth [2:04]
20. Princess Yuki's Command [3:52]
21. Rokurota In Action [3:07]
22. Duel [:53]
23. In The Rain [2:00]
24. Perfect Cover [8:10]
25. Fire Festival [5:52]
26. Fools' Gold [2:47]
27. Pressing Onwards [5:02]
28. Drawing Fire [4:02]
29. The Price Of Friendship [2:18]
30. A Change Of Heart [4:07]
31. "lucky To Have Our Heads" [6:27]
32. Arrested & Rewarded [5:16]