Thoroughly Modern Millie

Availability: 6 IN STOCK
PRICE: $4.49
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



George Roy Hill directed this original musical set the 1920s that mixes pop standards with new tunes written by Sammy Cahn and James Van Heusen. Julie Andrews, in a role that recalls her Broadway triumph in The Boy Friend, stars as Millie Dillmount, who comes to New York is search of a secretarial job and an unattached boss. She moves into a hotel for women, run by kindly Mrs. Meers (Beatrice Lillie), and she befriends the pretty, petite orphan Dorothy Brown (Mary Tyler Moore). Millie finds work with the handsome bachelor Trevor Graydon (John Gavin), but Trevor has his eyes on Dorothy. So too does Mrs. Meers, who despite her kindly exterior is actually an unscrupulous white slaver. Paper clip salesman Jimmy Smith (James Fox), on the other hand, pledges his undying love to Millie. One day, after attending a weekend party being given at the opulent Long Island mansion of Muzzy Van Hossmere (Carol Channing), Dorothy disappears. When Jimmy and Millie smell opium in Dorothy's room, they realize the awful truth about Mrs. Meers. Trying to rescue Dorothy and find the location of Mrs. Meers' hideout, Jimmy disguises himself as an orphaned woman and tries to get himself kidnapped. The scheme backfires, however, and Mrs. Meers drugs and kidnaps both Jimmy and Trevor. It is left to Millie to find the white slavers, free her friends from bondage and save the day. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Chapter List

Side #1 --
1. Overture [7:25]
2. Main Titles [4:30]
3. Millie & Miss Dorothy [10:33]
4. The Tapioca [10:15]
5. Mr. Graydon [6:55]
6. The Wedding (Trinkt le Chaim) [6:48]
7. Muzzy's Party [8:55]
8. Jazz Baby [12:34]
9. Jimmy [3:04]
10. Millie's Disappointment [17:27]
11. Intermission [3:43]
12. First Date (Do It Again!) [5:35]
13. Poor Butterfly [3:41]
14. Love on the Ledge [8:35]
15. Missing Miss Dorothy [15:15]
16. Millie to the Rescue [8:25]
17. Fireworks Frenzy [4:09]
18. Foiled [4:19]
19. Meet the Family [3:53]
20. End Titles/Exit Music [5:26]