Animals Should Not Try to Act Like People

Only 2 left in stock - order soon!
PRICE: $7.99
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. The Carpenter and the Dainty Bride 6:35
  2. Pilcher's Squad 1:54
  3. Mary the Ice Cube 4:37
  4. The Last Superpower aka Rapscallion 7:16
  5. My Friend Fats 7:55
  6. Mr. Krinkle [Dub]
  7. DMV [Dub]
  8. Wynona's Big Brown Beaver [Dub]
  9. Southbound Pachyderm [Dub]
  10. Shake Hands With Beef [Dub]
  11. Over the Falls [Dub]
  12. Lacquer Head [Dub]
  13. The Devil Went Down to Georgia [Dub]
  14. [Untitled Track] [DVD]
  15. John the Fisherman [DVD]
  16. Too Many Puppies [DVD]
  17. Jerry Was a Race Car Driver [DVD]
  18. Tommy the Cat [DVD]
  19. My Name Is Mud [DVD]
  20. Mr. Krinkle [DVD]
  21. DMV [DVD]
  22. Wynona's Big Brown Beaver [DVD]
  23. Southbound Pachyderm [DVD]
  24. Shake Hands With Beef [DVD]
  25. Over the Falls [DVD]
  26. Lacquer Head [DVD]
  27. The Devil Went Down to Georgia [DVD]
  28. [DVD]


Before and after Sailing the Seas of Cheese, Primus is an entirely different band. Almost. While Les Claypool's oddball and quirky sense of humor has remained intact throughout it all, the trio transformed musically over the years. Early on, it appeared as though Primus was more about songwriting, before later reinventing itself as a Grateful Dead-worshipping outfit that loved to put jamming before songwriting. On the CD/DVD double-disc Animals Should Not Try to Act Like People, the classic Claypool/Larry LaLonde/Tim Alexander lineup has been reunited for five new tracks. Fans hoping that Primus would return to streamlined songs will be disappointed, as the band has picked up right where it left off -- with three of the five tracks stretching past six minutes. The shorter tracks fare better, including "Pilcher's Squad," a song about a notorious London police detective who used to bust rock musicians in the '60s, before he was convicted of planting evidence. While hardcore fans will want to hear what Claypool and the boys have been up to lately in the recording studio, the main attraction of Animals is its exceptional DVD. Included are all of Primus' promo videos (including great and imaginative clips for "Jerry Was a Race Car Driver," "Tommy the Cat," and "My Name Is Mud"), as well as the 1992 Cheesy Home Video and live clips from throughout the group's career. ~ Greg Prato, Rovi