The Police

Every Breath You Take: The Singles

Availability: 9 IN STOCK
PRICE: $2.99
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing


Depending on whose report you believe, the Police recongregated in 1985 to either begin work on their sixth studio album or a greatest-hits collection that was to include all new, reworked versions of the hits. Neither ever materialized due to hostility between the members, and when all the trio could show for its work was an insipid remake of "Don't Stand So Close to Me," the Police decided to call it a day. So instead of following the original plan, AM issued Every Breath You Take: The Singles, which included 11 original versions of their hits plus the new track, titled "Don't Stand So Close to Me '86," which prevents the collection from being definitive. Still, the Police were responsible for some of the greatest rock tunes of all time, and all 11 originals are superb: "Roxanne," "Walking on the Moon," "Invisible Sun," "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic," "King of Pain," the title track, and others. The only criticism is the absence of other hits/videos/radio faves such as "Synchronicity II," "Demolition Man," and "So Lonely." [In 1995, AM replaced Every Breath You Take: The Singles with Every Breath You Take: The Classics, which finally included the original version of "Don't Stand So Close to Me," as well as its 1986 remake, and a remix of "Message in a Bottle."] ~ Greg Prato, Rovi

Influenced By The Police