Blues Traveler

Truth Be Told [DualDisc]

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. Unable to Get Free 4:23
  2. Eventually (I'll Come Around) 3:51
  3. Sweet and Broken 3:49
  4. My Blessed Pain 4:35
  5. Let Her & Let Go 3:39
  6. Thinnest of Air 3:35
  7. Can't See Why 3:14
  8. Stumble and Fall 4:59
  9. This Ache 4:06
  10. Mount Normal 4:04
  11. The One 3:42
  12. Partner in Crime 3:36
  13. Unable to Get Free [DVD]
  14. Eventually (I'll Come Around) [DVD]
  15. Sweet and Broken [DVD]
  16. My Blessed Pain [DVD]
  17. Let Her & Let Go [DVD]
  18. Thinnest of Air [DVD]
  19. Can't See Why [DVD]
  20. Stumble and Fall [DVD]
  21. This Ache [DVD]
  22. Mount Normal [DVD]
  23. The One [DVD]
  24. Partner in Crime [DVD]
  25. Bonus Material [DVD][*]


Bridge, Blues Traveler's 2001 release, was appropriate. It was definitely a stylistic return to form after the disappointing Straight on Till Morning. But Bridge also brought BT back to the world after the death of bassist Bob Sheehan and John Popper's bouts with illness. Truth Be Told builds on that momentum, telescoping the veteran combo's sound, history, and experience -- both good and bad ones -- into a strong 12-song set. There's radio-friendly material here -- "Sweet and Broken"; "My Blessed Pain" -- but these aren't sequels to the cleansed bop of "Runaround." Instead, they click on clever wordplay from Popper and Chan Kinchla's crackling little guitar parts. New keyboardist Ben Wilson is invaluable throughout Truth; his rhythmic lines and well-placed solo moments are so effortlessly integrated, it's difficult to remember a Blues Traveler without Wilson on the keys. His organ kicks off one of the album's more exploratory moments. "Thinnest of Air" sounds like sped-up dub reggae, unspooling threads of trippy atmosphere without killing the track's relentless drive. And while the presence of Wilson's piano and organ does eat into Popper's harmonica parts a bit, "Can't See Why" still has room for one of those tongue-workout harp freak-outs. At the same time, it's also one of the album's rawest songs, toasting the band's jammy and vibrant live sound without spinning into a laborious tangent of aimless soloing. "Unable to Get Free" and "Let Her Let Go" are album highlights. Both cuts combine big, boisterous choruses with sinewy songcraft that contracts or expands with the band's inspired, focused playing. There's groove here, and it's a bluesy, tour-tested one. But there are also easily accessible melodies and whip-smart lyrics. Comfortably ensconced at Sanctuary, and oblivious to any worries about follow-up singles or Platinum records, Blues Traveler has made something that quietly and confidently has the potential for both. [Truth Be Told, Rovi