O Henry's Full House

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



This anthology film assembles five respected directors and a top-notch cast to bring a handful of stories by the great American author O. Henry to the screen. In The Cop and the Anthem, a tramp named Soapy (Charles Laughton) tries to get arrested so that he can spend the winter in jail, only to find that is not as easy as it used to be. Marilyn Monroe appears in this episode as a streetwalker. The Clarion Call features Dale Robertson as Barney, a cop forced to arrest an old friend, Johnny (Richard Widmark). Anne Baxter stars in The Last Leaf as Joanna, an elderly woman who sees her own illness reflected in the fall of the autumn leaves; she's convinced that when the last leaf drops from the tree outside her window, her life will go with it. The Ransom of Red Chief concerns Sam (Fred Allen) and Bill (Oscar Levant), two novice kidnappers who kidnap a child, only to discover that his parents don't want him back -- and after a few hours with the brat, they find out why. And The Gift of the Magi tells the story of a pair of cash-strapped newlyweds, Della (Jeanne Craine) and Jim (Farley Granger), who struggle to get each other the perfect Christmas gift, with unexpected results. John Steinbeck narrates. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Chapter List

Disc #1 -- O Henry's Full House
1. Main Titles/Steinbeck Introduction [3:21]
2. The Cop and the Anthem [4:07]
3. A Fine Meal [4:36]
4. Can't Get Arrested [3:03]
5. Reformed Man [5:34]
6. The Clarion Call [3:13]
7. Johnny Kernan [5:49]
8. A Debt to Square [4:40]
9. The City Editor [4:53]
10. Reward Money [4:15]
11. The Last Leaf [6:48]
12. Avant Garde Art [3:14]
13. No Will to Live [5:56]
14. Comforting Susan [3:21]
15. A Great Artist [5:16]
16. The Random of Red Chief [6:54]
17. No Will to Live [4:44]
18. Comforting Susan [9:10]
19. A Great Artist [5:15]
20. The Random of Red Chief [4:39]
21. Window Shopping [3:19]
22. Haircut [4:04]
23. Time Is Money [6:03]
24. Gift Exchange/End Titles [4:59]