Randy Newman

Princess and the Frog [Original Songs and Score]

Only 3 left in stock - order soon!
PRICE: $4.99
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. Never Knew I Needed 3:37
  2. Down in New Orleans (Prologue) :28
  3. Down in New Orleans 2:25
  4. Almost There 2:25
  5. Friends on the Other Side 3:35
  6. When We're Human 2:22
  7. Gonna Take You There 1:44
  8. Ma Belle Evangeline 1:56
  9. Dig a Little Deeper 2:48
  10. Down in New Orleans (Finale) 1:35
  11. Fairy Tale/Going Home [Score] 4:17
  12. I Know This Story [Score] 5:26
  13. The Frog Hunters/Gator Down [Score] 6:04
  14. Tiana's Bad Dream [Score] 6:22
  15. Ray Laid Low [Score] 3:22
  16. Ray/Mama Odie [Score] 4:00
  17. This Is Gonna Be Good [Score] 3:20
  18. [CD-ROM Track]


Disney set The Princess The Frog, its first-ever film with an African-American lead, in New Orleans, and wisely chose Randy Newman as its scorer/songwriter. Newman not only has a long lineage as a film composer, but his music has deep roots in the Big Easy, making him an ideal choice for the project. Both sides surface here, with the score leaning toward lush Hollywood romanticism, leaving the songs as the place for jazz, zydeco, and RB to play. Naturally, cast members Anika Noni Rose, Jim Cummings, Keith David, and Michael Leon-Wooley take the majority of the leads - N'awlins favorite son Dr. John does get to sing the fanfare “Down in New Orleans” -- but there’s a strong dose of local flavor courtesy of Terence Blanchard and Terrance Simien, helping this soundtrack to feel a little less Broadway, a little more authentically New Orleans, and a whole lot more fun. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi