Captain Phillips [UltraViolet]

Availability: 9 IN STOCK
PRICE: $3.99
Add to Personal Favorites

DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.

Customers Also bought View More »



Two-time Academy Award winner Tom Hanks teams with Oscar-nominated director Paul Greengrass and screenwriter Billy Ray to tell the true story of Richard Phillips, a U.S. cargo-ship captain who surrendered himself to Somali pirates so that his crew would be freed. Captain Richard Phillips (Hanks) and his crew are carrying freight around the Horn of Africa when four Somali pirates forcefully take over their ship, the MV Maersk Alabama. While Phillips' team follow his orders to hide until they hear him give the safe word, the captain and a few essential crew members remain on the bridge as the heavily armed pirates make their way up to seize control of the ship. But the interlopers soon discover something that sends them into a furious rage: After effectively shutting down the ship, Phillips explains that the Maersk had malfunctioned when the crew pushed it too hard in an attempt to evade the attackers. In order to appease their leader, the ruthless Muse (Barkhad Abdi), Phillips offers them the 30,000 that's been locked in the ship safe. But that isn't enough, and Muse demands that Phillips help him search every corner of the ship to root out the terrified crew. When that plan fails, the pirates agree to take the cash from the safe and flee in the Maersk's lifeboat. At the last minute, however, they kidnap Phillips in the hope of supplementing their take with a sizable ransom -- a decision that leads to a tense standoff with the U.S. Navy, who would sooner see the lifeboat sunk with Phillips inside than allow it to reach Somalia. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Chapter List

Disc #1 -- Captain Phillips
1. Chapter 1 [9:12]
2. Chapter 2 [6:16]
3. Chapter 3 [7:18]
4. Chapter 4 [7:22]
5. Chapter 5 [9:26]
6. Chapter 6 [8:21]
7. Chapter 7 [10:23]
8. Chapter 8 [6:10]
9. Chapter 9 [8:26]
10. Chapter 10 [6:11]
11. Chapter 11 [6:26]
12. Chapter 12 [8:15]
13. Chapter 13 [:17]
14. Chapter 14 [7:30]
15. Chapter 15 [9:47]
16. Chapter 16 [11:06]
17. Chapter 17 [11:24]