Tina Turner

Private Dancer [30th Anniversary Edition]

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. I Might Have Been Queen 4:11
  2. What's Love Got to Do With It 3:50
  3. Show Some Respect 3:19
  4. I Can't Stand the Rain 3:43
  5. Private Dancer 7:14
  6. Let's Stay Together 5:18
  7. Better Be Good to Me 5:13
  8. Steel Claw 3:49
  9. Help! 4:31
  10. 1984 3:11
  11. Ball of Confusion (That's What the World is Today) [Remix] 4:12
  12. I Wrote a Letter 3:26
  13. Rock 'n Roll Widow 4:42
  14. Don't Rush the Good Things 3:47
  15. When I Was Young 3:10
  16. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby 3:30
  17. Tonight [Live at the NEC, Birmingham] [Live] 4:06
  18. Let's Pretend We're Married [Live] [Live] 4:13
  19. What's Love Got to Do With It [Extended 12" Remix] 5:44
  20. Better Be Good to Me [Extended 12" Remix] 7:04
  21. I Can't Stand the Rain [Extended 12" Remix] 5:43
  22. Show Some Respect [Extended Mix] [Version] 5:44
  23. We Don't Need Another Hero (Thunderdome) 4:16
  24. One of the Living 4:12
  25. It's Only Love 3:17


In 1984, a 45-year-old Tina Turner made one of the most amazing comebacks in the history of American popular music. A few years earlier, it was hard to imagine the veteran soul/rock belter reinventing herself and returning to the top of the pop charts, but she did exactly that with the outstanding Private Dancer. And Turner did so without sacrificing her musical integrity. To be sure, this pop/rock/RB pearl is decidedly slicker than such raw, earthy, hard-edged Ike Tina classics as "Proud Mary," "Sexy Ida," and "I Wanna Take You Higher." But she still has a tough, throaty, passionate delivery that serves her beautifully on everything from the melancholy, reggae-influenced "What's Love Got to Do with It" to the gutsy "Better Be Good to Me" to heartfelt remakes of the Beatles' "Help," Al Green's "Let's Stay Together," and David Bowie's "1984." A reflection on the emptiness of a stripper's life, the dusky title song is as poignant as it is depressing. Without question, this was Turner's finest hour as a solo artist. [The 30th anniversary edition, released 31 years after the original, improves upon the 1997 reissue in two-disc form. While it does not provide a thorough round-up of all the Private Dancer B-sides and 7"/12" mixes, it does contain most of them, as well as "Ball of Confusion (That's What the World Is Today)," her 1982-released collaboration with B.E.F., and "We Don't Need Another Hero (Thunderdome)," from the 1985 soundtrack of Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome.] ~ Alex Henderson, Rovi