Manic Street Preachers

Send Away the Tigers [10 Year Collectors Edition] [CD & DVD]

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. Send Away the Tigers 3:37
  2. Welcome to the Dead Zone 3:42
  3. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough 3:56
  4. Indian Summer 3:54
  5. The Second Great Depression 4:09
  6. Rendition 2:59
  7. Autumnsong 3:40
  8. I'm Just a Patsy 3:11
  9. Imperial Bodybags 3:30
  10. Winterlovers 3:12
  11. Working Class Hero 2:52
  12. Send Away the Tigers [Demo Version] 3:18
  13. Underdogs [Demo Version] 2:51
  14. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough [Demo Version] 4:01
  15. Indian Summer [Demo Version] 3:23
  16. The Second Great Depression [Demo Version] 4:38
  17. Rendition [Demo Version] 2:06
  18. Autumnsong [Demo Version] 3:54
  19. I'm Just a Patsy [Demo Version] 1:51
  20. Imperial Bodybags [Demo Version] 3:30
  21. Winterlovers [Demo Version] 3:09
  22. Leviathan 2:40
  23. Umbrella 3:39
  24. Ghost of Christmas 3:42
  25. Boxes and Lists 3:58
  26. Love Letter to the Future 3:51
  27. Little Girl Lost 2:17
  28. Fearless Punk Ballad 4:08
  29. Your Love Is Not Enough [Nina Solo Acoustic] [Version] 4:00
  30. Red Sleeping Beauty [McCarthy Cover] 3:18
  31. The Long Goodbye 2:46
  32. Morning Comrade 3:15
  33. 1404 2:29
  34. The Vortices 3:22
  35. Autumnsong [Acoustic Version] [Version] 3:43
  36. Anorexic Roding 3:12
  37. Heyday of the Blood 2:44
  38. Foggy Eyes 2:54
  39. Lady Lazarus 4:11
  40. You Know This It's Going to Hurt [Instrumental] [Instrumental] 2:49
  41. You Love Us [Live]
  42. Motorcycle Emptiness [Live]
  43. You Stole the Sun From My Heart [Live]
  44. Faster [Live]
  45. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough [Live]
  46. Everything Must Go [Live]
  47. From Despair to Where [Live]
  48. Autumnsong [Live]
  49. Ocean Spray [Live]
  50. If You Tolerate This, Your Children Will Be Next [Live]
  51. La Tristesse Durera (Scream to a Sigh) [Live]
  52. Imperial Bodybags [Live]
  53. Motown Junk [Live]
  54. A Design for Life [Live]
  55. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough [Video] [*][Multimedia Track]
  56. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough [Making Of] [*]
  57. Autumnsong [Official Video] [*][Multimedia Track]
  58. Autumnsong [Alternative Video] [*][Multimedia Track]
  59. Indian Summer [Video] [*][Multimedia Track]
  60. Track by Track [*]
  61. Rehearsals, Cardiff, March 2007 [*]
  62. Practice Sessions [*]


Like many long-term relationships, Manic Street Preachers benefited from some time apart, as their seventh album, Send Away the Tigers, makes plain. Arriving on the heels of 2006 solo albums from both singer/guitarist James Dean Bradfield and lyricist/bassist Nicky Wire, Send Away the Tigers finds the group recharged and revitalized, achieving the widescreen grandeur of Everything Must Go but infusing it with a harder rock edge that may not be as furious as their earliest work, but is no less committed. This surging sense of purpose was conspicuously absent on the Manics' previous albums, which grew increasingly mannered in their attempts at majestic pop, culminating in the pleasant but too soft Lifeblood. It's hard to call Tigers soft -- it thunders even in its quietest moments, and when strings or keyboards are brought in, they're drowned out by guitars. This doesn't sound like a desperate measure; it sounds like recommitment on the part of the Manics, especially since they haven't abandoned the melodic skills they've honed over the past decade. They've merely melded them to muscular yet mature rock roll. It's that commitment to hard rock that makes Send Away the Tigers bracing upon its initial listen, but what makes it lasting is the songs, which may lack anthems on the level of "A Design for Life," but they're something better: they're small-scale epics, roiling with drama and coiled with tension, flirting with being overblown but kept grounded by the group's reclaimed righteousness and newfound sense of control. That leanness applies to the album overall as well -- where every Manics record since Everything Must Go grew increasingly over-stuffed, this has no flab, and its ten songs have a relentless momentum. It's still pretty bombastic -- the Manics were never about subtlety -- but the sweeping gestures are delivered with a sense of efficiency that makes Send Away the Tigers never seem heavy-handed, which is something that even their best albums often are. So, this isn't merely a return to form, then -- it's also a welcome progression from a band that only a couple of albums back seemed stuck in a rut with no way out. [In 2017, Send Away the Tigers was released in a two-CD/DVD Tenth Anniversary Collectors Edition featuring the remastered original album plus demos, a bonus disc of B-sides and rare tracks, and a DVD including the band's set at Glastonbury, promo videos, and rehearsal footage.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi