Master of Puppets [Remastered & Expanded Edition] [3 CD]

Availability: Out of stock
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. Battery 5:12
  2. Master of Puppets 8:35
  3. The Thing That Should Not Be 6:36
  4. Welcome Home (Sanitarium) 6:27
  5. Disposable Heroes 8:16
  6. Leper Messiah 5:39
  7. Orion [Instrumental] 8:27
  8. Damage, Inc. 5:32
  9. Battery [Early June 1985 Demo] [Demo Version] 4:41
  10. Master of Puppets [Late June 1985 Demo] [Demo Version] 8:20
  11. The Thing That Should Not Be [September 1985 Drum Room Demo] [Demo Version] 6:22
  12. Welcome Home (Sanitarium) [Late June 1985 Demo] [Demo Version] 9:01
  13. Disposable Heroes [May 1985, Writing in Progress II] 5:41
  14. Leper Messiah [1985, From James' Riff Tapes] :55
  15. Orion [November 1985, Work in Progress Rough Mix] 8:23
  16. Damage, Inc. [1985, From James' Riff Tapes] 1:54
  17. The Money Will Roll Right In [Work in Progress Rough Mix] 2:57
  18. The Prince [Work in Progress Rough Mix] 4:50
  19. Metal Madness [Magazine Interview With Cliff] 19:30
  20. Battery [Live at the Meadowlands, East Rutherford, NJ 4/21/1986] [Live] 4:40
  21. Master of Puppets [Live at the Meadowlands, East Rutherford, NJ 04/21/1 8:24
  22. For Whom the Bell Tolls [Live at Hampton Coliseum, Hampton, VA 08/3/198 5:14
  23. Ride the Lightning [Live at Grugahalle, Essen, West Germany 01/25/1987] 6:15
  24. Welcome Home (Sanitarium) [Live at the Country Club, Reseda, CA 11/8/19 6:00
  25. The Thing That Should Not Be [Live at the Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL 05/2 6:15
  26. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth [Live at the Aragon Ballroom, Chicago IL 05/ 2:57
  27. Damage, Inc. [Live at the Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL 05/25/1986] [Liv 4:07
  28. Fade to Black [Live at Solnahallen, Stockholm, Sweden 09/26/1986] [Live 6:33
  29. Seek & Destroy [Live at the Country Club, Reseda, CA 11/8/1986] [Live] 6:17
  30. Creeping Death [Live at Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL 05/25/1986] [Live] 6:03
  31. The Four Horsemen [Live at Grugahalle, Essen, West Germany 01/25/1986] [Liv 5:01
  32. Am I Evil [Live at Hapmton Coliseum, Hampton, VA 08/3/1986] [Live] 3:37
  33. Whiplash [Live at the Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL 05/25/1986] [Live] 4:43


Even though Master of Puppets didn't take as gigantic a leap forward as Ride the Lightning, it was the band's greatest achievement, hailed as a masterpiece by critics far outside heavy metal's core audience. It was also a substantial hit, reaching the Top 30 and selling three million copies despite absolutely nonexistent airplay. Instead of a radical reinvention, Master of Puppets is a refinement of past innovations. In fact, it's possible to compare Ride the Lightning and Master of Puppets song for song and note striking similarities between corresponding track positions on each record (although Lightning's closing instrumental has been bumped up to next-to-last in Master's running order). That hint of conservatism is really the only conceivable flaw here. Though it isn't as startling as Ride the Lightning, Master of Puppets feels more unified, both thematically and musically. Everything about it feels blown up to epic proportions (indeed, the songs are much longer on average), and the band feels more in control of its direction. You'd never know it by the lyrics, though -- in one way or another, nearly every song on Master of Puppets deals with the fear of powerlessness. Sometimes they're about hypocritical authority (military and religious leaders), sometimes primal, uncontrollable human urges (drugs, insanity, rage), and, in true H.P. Lovecraft fashion, sometimes monsters. Yet by bookending the album with two slices of thrash mayhem ("Battery" and "Damage, Inc."), the band reigns triumphant through sheer force -- of sound, of will, of malice. The arrangements are thick and muscular, and the material varies enough in texture and tempo to hold interest through all its twists and turns. Some critics have called Master of Puppets the best heavy metal album ever recorded; if it isn't, it certainly comes close. [A three-CD Remastered Expanded Edition of Master of Puppets was released in 2017, featuring the original album remastered on the first disc; previously unreleased demos, rough mixes, and a 20-minute interview with Cliff Burton on the second disc; and 14 previously unreleased live tracks recorded during Metallica's 1986 Damage, Inc. tour. The set also included a 28-page booklet.] ~ Steve Huey, Rovi

Influenced By Metallica