Stan Getz

Big Band Bossa Nova

Only 2 left in stock - order soon!
PRICE: $6.99
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. Manha de Carnival [Morning of Carnival]
  2. Balanco No Samba
  3. Melancolico [Melancholy Melody]
  4. Entre Amigos [Sympathy Between Friends]
  5. Chega de Saudade [Too Much Longing]
  6. Noite Triste [Night Sadness]
  7. Samba de uma Nota So [One Note Samba]
  8. Bim Bom


Fresh from the sudden success of Jazz Samba and "Desafinado," Stan Getz asked the 28-year-old, strikingly gifted Gary McFarland to arrange a bossa nova album for big band as a follow-up. Getz is always his debonair, wistful, freely-floating self, completely at home in the Brazilian idiom that he'd adopted only a few months before. McFarland usually keeps things nice and spare (although "One Note Samba" is uncharacteristically cluttered and a bit too discordant for the material), letting his pungent voicings stab the air now and then, while allowing the soloists all the room they want within the confines of producer Creed Taylor's tight timings. Four of the eight songs are by McFarland (none of which would become standards), and Getz makes relaxed impressions with "Manha de Carnival" and "Chega de Saudade." Jim Hall takes the role of acoustic guitarist from Charlie Byrd with his usual fluidity, and Hank Jones ruminates in a boppish way on piano. This album also charted quite respectably (number 13) in the first flush of the bossa nova boom. ~ Richard S. Ginell, Rovi