Bobby Brown

Don't Be Cruel

Availability: 7 IN STOCK
PRICE: $4.99
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. Cruel Prelude :39
  2. Don't Be Cruel 6:52
  3. My Prerogative 4:57
  4. Roni 5:58
  5. Rock Wit'cha 4:47
  6. Every Little Step 3:59
  7. I'll Be Good to You 4:25
  8. Take It Slow 5:22
  9. All Day All Night 4:40
  10. I Really Love You Girl 5:11
  11. Cruel Reprise :18


Don't Be Cruel was to Bobby Brown what Control was to Janet Jackson -- a tougher, more aggressive project that shed his "bubblegum" image altogether and brought him to a new artistic and commercial plateau. With "My Prerogative" and the title song, Brown became a leader of new jack swing -- a forceful, high-tech blend of traditional soul singing and rap/hip-hop that's also associated with Guy and Brown's New Edition colleagues, Bell Biv DeVoe. Brown had been a strong advocate of rap since his days with New Edition, and on Cruel, he did even more rapping than before. But for all the tough-mindedness he exhibited on his new jack hits, the charismatic Bostonian hadn't lost his love of sentimental, old-fashioned RB romanticism -- and he definitely excels in that area on his hits "Every Little Step," "Roni," and "Rock Wit'cha." Much of Cruel was produced by the ubiquitous production/songwriting duo L.A. Reid and Babyface, who've often been accused (and rightly so) of taking a formulaic, cookie-cutter approach to RB. But here, their work is never less than inspired. ~ Alex Henderson, Rovi