Donald Fagen


Only 5 left in stock - order soon!
PRICE: $3.99
Add to Personal Favorites

Customers Also bought View More »

Track Listing

    Track Title


  1. I.G.Y. 6:05
  2. Green Flower Street 3:40
  3. Ruby Baby 5:38
  4. Maxine 3:50
  5. New Frontier 6:23
  6. The Nightfly 5:45
  7. The Goodbye Look 4:47
  8. Walk Between Raindrops 2:38
  9. New Frontier [Video][*][Multimedia Track]


A portrait of the artist as a young man, The Nightfly is a wonderfully evocative reminiscence of Kennedy-era American life; in the liner notes, Donald Fagen describes the songs as representative of the kinds of fantasies he entertained as an adolescent during the late '50s/early '60s, and he conveys the tenor of the times with some of his most personal and least obtuse material to date. Continuing in the smooth pop-jazz mode favored on the final Steely Dan records, The Nightfly is lush and shimmering, produced with cinematic flair by Gary Katz; romanticized but never sentimental, the songs are slices of suburbanite soap opera, tales of space-age hopes (the hit "I.G.Y.") and Cold War fears (the wonderful "The New Frontier," a memoir of fallout-shelter love) crafted with impeccable style and sophistication. ~ Jason Ankeny, Rovi